State Universities in Nigeria | (Full List) 2024

There are currently over fifty five (55) States Universities in Nigeria recognized by the National Universities Commission (NUC).

Are you searching for Full List of Accredited State Universities in Nigeria, or you want to know the States Universities that are approved by the Nigeria University Commission (NUC).

If yes Continue reading because in this article are complete list of Nigeria States Universities, their location, Funding, and Year of Establishment.

States Universities in Nigeria

State Universities in Nigeria

Full list of Nigerian State Universities below.

1. Abia State University Abia Uturu, Okigwe State 1981
2. Adamawa State
Adamawa Mubi State 2002
3. Akwa Ibom State University Akwa Ibom Ikot Akpaden State 2010
4. Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University Anambra Uli State 2009
5. Bauchi State University Bauchi Gadau State 2011
6. University of Africa Toru Orua Bayelsa Toru Orua State 2016
7. Bayelsa Medical University Bayelsa Yenagoa State 2019
8. Niger Delta University Bayelsa Yenagoa State 2000
9. Benue State University Benue Makurdi State 1992
10. Bornu State University Borno Maiduguri State 2016
11. Cross River State University of Technology Cross River Calabar State 2004
12. Dennis Osadebe University Delta Asaba State 2021
13. Delta State University Delta Abraka State 1992
14. University of Delta Delta Agbor State 2021
15. Delta University of Science and Technology Delta Ozoro State 2021
16. Ebonyi State University Ebonyi Abakaliki State 2000
17.  King David Umahi University of Medical Sciences Ebonyi Uburu State 2021
18. Edo State University Edo Uzairue State 2016
19. Ambrose Alli University Edo Ekpoma State 1980
20. Ekiti State University Ekiti Ado Ekiti State 1982
21 Bamidele Olumilua University of Science and Technology Ekiti Ikere State 2020
22. Enugu State University of Science and Technology Enugu Enugu State 1982
23. Gombe State University Gombe Gombe State 2004
24. Gombe State University of Science and Technology Gombe Gombe State 2017
25. Imo State University Imo Owerri State 1992
26. Kingsley Ozumba Mbadiwe University Imo Ogboko State 2016
27. University of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences Imo Umuagwo State 2019
28. Sule Lamido University Jigawa Kafin Hausa State 2007
29. Kaduna State University Kaduna Kaduna State 2004
30 Kano University of Science & Technology Kano Wudil State 2000
31. Yusuf Maitama Sule University Kano Kano State 2012
32. Umar Musa Yar’ Adua University Katsina Katsina State 2006
33. Kebbi State University of Science and Technology Kebbi Aliero State 2006
34. Confluence University of Science and Technology Kogi Osara State 2020
35. Prince Abubakar Audu University Kogi Anyigba State 1999
36. Kwara State University Kwara Ilorin State 2009
37. Lagos State University Lagos Ojo State 1983
38. Lagos State University of Education Lagos Ijanikin State
39. Lagos State University of Science and Technology Lagos Ikorodu State
40. Nasarawa State University Keffi Nasarawa Keffi State 2002
41. Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University Niger Lapai State 2005
42. Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology Ogun Abeokuta State 2007
43. Olabisi Onabanjo University Ogun Ago Iwoye State 1982
44. Tai Solarin University of Education Ogun Ijebu Ode State 2005
45. Ondo State University of Science and Technology Ondo Okitipupa State 2008
46. Ondo State University of Medical Sciences Ondo Laje – Ondo City State 2015
47. Adekunle Ajasin University Ondo Akungba-Akoko State 1999
48. Joseph Ayo Babalola University Osun Osogbo State 2004
49. First Technical University Oyo Ibadan State 2012
50. Ladoke Akintola University of Technology Oyo Ogbomoso State 1990
51. Plateau State University Plateau Bokkos State 2005
52. Rivers State University Rivers Port-Harcourt State 1979
53. Ignatius Ajuru University of Education Rivers Rumuolumeni State 2015
54 Sokoto State University Sokoto Sokoto State 2009
55. Taraba State University Taraba Jalingo State 2008
56. Yobe State University Yobe Damaturu State 2006
57. Zamfara State University Zamfara Talata Mafara State 2018

Recommended: Nigerian Federal Universities (Full List)

About NUC

National Universities Commission (NUC) was established in 1962 charged with the duties of checkmating the activities of these Universities by setting standards and guidelines on which each of these Universities should operate with.

The NUC as a parastatal under the Federal Ministry of Education (FME) also functions as a University commissioning agency.

Major functions of the Commission (NUC) are explained below:

  • Granting approval for all academic programmes run in Nigerian universities,
  • Granting approval for the establishment of all higher educational institutions offering degree programmes in Nigerian universities,
  • Ensure quality assurance of all academic programmes offered in Nigerian universities; and,
  • Channel for all external support to the Nigerian universities.

In Conclusion:

These States Universities listed above are accredited by the National Universities commission (NUC) and they also abide by the rules and regulations of this Commissioning body. NUC portal –

Thanks for investing your time in reading this post, Please Share.

Join our WhatsApp Chat here or you visit for latest Universities and educational updates.

You can comment or make suggestion (s) using the comment box  below.

Related Articles:
Full List of Private Universities in Nigeria
List of all Nigerian Federal Polytechnics
State Polytechnics in Nigeria
Private Polytechnics in Nigeria (Full List)

About the author


I'm EDUINFO the author of the ebook LUORG. I also happen to be the founder and Chief Editor of

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.